State of Alabama Firearms and Weapons Laws
The following synopsis of Alabama law is furnished for general information only, and does not constitute legal advice or counsel:
Alabama law prohibits any person from carrying a pistol in any vehicle or concealed on or about their person without a pistol permit license. Code of Alabama 1975, section 13A-11-73.
Under Alabama law a “pistol” is defined as “any firearm with a barrel less than 12 inches in length.”
Licenses to carry a pistol are issued by local county sheriffs in Alabama. A person must be a resident of that county to apply for and be issued a pistol permit license.
The license requirement of section 13A-11-73 does not apply to “regularly employed” law enforcement officers; to members of the armed forces or National Guard while on duty or going to or from duty; to persons engaged in manufacturing, repairing, or dealing in pistols; or to any person permitted by law to possess a pistol while carrying it unloaded in a secure wrapper, from the place of purchase to his home or place of business, or to or from a place of repair or in moving from one place of abode or business to another. Section 13A-11-74.
It is our interpretation of the Code of Alabama that “regularly employed” law enforcement means full time, sworn law enforcement officers. Such persons are exempt from the requirement to possess a permit and may carry their pistols concealed or unconcealed.
The State of Alabama has a reciprocal agreement with other states, in which Alabama recognizes pistol permits issued in other states, and they in turn recognize permits issued in Alabama.
(Passage of Senate Bill 122, which was signed by the Governor on May 22, 2001, went into effect August 1, 2001)
However, a person may carry or transport a long gun (rifle or shotgun) without a permit. A person may lawfully transport a firearm, including a handgun, from one state in which they are legal to possess to another state without a permit as required under Alabama law, provided the following conditions are met:
1. The firearm is unloaded.
2. Neither the firearm nor the ammunition is readily accessible.
3. In case of a vehicle without a compartment separate from the drivers compartment, the firearm and ammunition shall be in a locked container other than the glove box or console.
Title 18 U.S.C section 926A
Under Alabama law, no person convicted in this state or elsewhere of a “crime of violence” may own or possess a pistol. (Section 13A-11-72.)
Crimes of violence are defined as murder, manslaughter, rape, assault, robbery, burglary, kidnapping, and larceny. No person addicted to drugs or habitually intoxicated may own or possess a pistol. (Section 13A-11-72.)
Any person in violation of Alabama’s pistol laws may be arrested and upon conviction, subjected to a term of imprisonment of not more than one year and a fine of not more than $500.00 or both. The pistol will be seized and may be forfeited by court order.
You can submit your application for a pistol permit online. Just complete the online form and it will be electronically transmitted to the Marshall County Sheriff’s Office.
You will be contacted by phone when your permit is ready to be picked up.
You must pick up your permit in person at the Marshall County Sheriff’s Office.
You must have valid photo identification to receive your permit.
You cannot renew or pay for your pistol permit online.
When completing an online pistol permit application, please allow for a 72-hour waiting period. This will allow our office to receive the application and conduct the background investigation.